Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: I Remember When… Ends August 28th


I Remember When… by Dawn Wynne and illustrated by Andrea Vitali

A nostalgic look back at how things used to be, I Remember When provides an interactive experience children will love. Parents and grandparents will enjoy discussing the way it was “back in the old days.” A treasured keepsake that will be passed down for years to come.

My Review: Time to travel back in time with your child and grandchild and reminisce about when television was in black and white with antennas, box like record players, when babies rode in the front seat of a car and computers built as big as a house.  

When I started to turn the pages of the book I couldn’t help but laugh. It was funny to see the old style rotary telephone and the typewriter in the book, and then I turned to look at my keyboard and my cell phone…LOL!

We have come a long way. But am glad Dawn Wynne took us back to the past with this story. The story started with the grandchild asking her grandmother what it was like when she was a little girl. The interesting thing about this book is being able to actually see the items and touch them. Any grandparent will have fun reading this book to their grandchildren. I highly recommend I Remember When…

Pages: 12

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer

http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/giveaway-guidelines-disclaimer/

Giveaway (US ONLY)

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! 

So please leave a helpful comment relating to this book.

~~~~~~~~~~ 

Mandatory Entry: Leave your comment and email address below.

Mandatory Entry: Please read the author’s interview and leave a comment also http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2011/08/18/interview-with-dawn-wynne/#respond 

1 lucky winner will be selected by Random.org

Giveaway Ends August 28th  @ 12 noon

 

This giveaway has ended.

Check Giveaway Winners to find out who won.

 

August 19, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,

19 Comments »

  1. Too often we, and generations after us, take what we have for granted. This book not only shows us just how far technology has come in such a relatively short time, but will also (hopefully) make us sit back, take a look at what we have, and be grateful for it.

    Cassandra Van Slyke
    acvanslyke@gmail.com

    Comment by Cassandra | August 19, 2011 | Reply

    • Great comment!

      Comment by mymcbooks | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. I know my grandpa would love to read this book to his great-grandchildren. The cover picture looks so cute! Thank you for the chance to win. edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  3. Left my comment on author interview!
    This book sounds and looks super cute as well as educational. I am curious about how you can ” feel” the items and what all is included.

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | August 19, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for your comment Larissa. Each page has an interactive element. For example, the telephone has a plastic dial that turns, the record player has a spinning record, and the camera has a piece of film that pulls out. Hopefully that gives you a sneak peak! Good luck!

      Comment by Dawn Wynne | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  4. Left comment on interview! Looks like a wonderful book that my grandparents would love to read to their great grandchildren. What a wonderful way for them to share to the next generations!

    Comment by lisa | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  5. What a neat idea for a book! I like to tell the kids what things were like when I was younger and it would be nice to have a book to not only tell them about when I was little, but when my parents were little too. Thanks for the chance to win! :-)

    Comment by Kristie | August 19, 2011 | Reply

    • I forgot my e-mail: khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

      I also left a comment on the author interview post.

      Comment by Kristie | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  6. I left a comment on the interview post letting her know how much I admire her! I would love to read this book to my son – he loves hearing about how things used to be and I know he’ll love this book:)

    Comment by Julie Witt | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  7. My grandson (age 7) thinks the ‘olden days’ were when we had to play Wii on a black & white TV!
    I like the interactive aspect of the book, and I think it would lead to showing off other ‘antiques’ around the house & going into the history of the item.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  8. This book sounds wonderful! I find myself saying, “I remember when..” with my daughter and my students so often now. I find myself thinking back to how things were when I was a kid and making comparisons to present day. It’s amazing how time flies by….

    Comment by Kimberly K | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  9. I left a comment on the author interview :)

    Comment by Kimberly K | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  10. My little one loves to hear about when his grandma and great grandma were young. He’d love this book.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | August 20, 2011 | Reply

  11. I love this book. Just prior to my Dad’s passing he always sat with the grand kids and great grand kids. They couldn’t imagine there was no TV and listened to entertainment on the radio. Or they walked (heaven forbid) to school . Etc etc. They loved his stories. I think they are they treasures, the memories of time passed. Different eras and simpler.Thanks for offering this giveaway.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 21, 2011 | Reply

  12. I love talking about the “old days” even though I dont consider it that long ago but to my boys it seems like forever. They enjoy hearing about what it was like when I was young so they would love this book.

    Comment by Daily Woman | August 22, 2011 | Reply

  13. Such a great topic for a children’s book! I think it’s so healthy and important to share this heritage sort of information with our kiddos and grandkiddos too!

    Comment by Heather S | August 24, 2011 | Reply

  14. I am a high school mathematics teacher who never considered herself very good at writing. The author has an impressive resume. I know how humbling it can be to be selected as “Teacher of the Year.” It does validate that we have made a difference. My mother always encouraged me to read what I wanted to read and not just what I had to read in my classes. It was also interesting that the idea for this book came from a dream that she had. I had a booklet that I had given to both my dad and my grandmother for them to fill in different things about when they were growing up. At least I still have a chance to get my dad to complete his. I would like to share them with my daughter and grandson one of these days.

    Comment by Christine W | August 27, 2011 | Reply

  15. This sounds like an awesome book. What a wonderful way to bring the generations closer. Children love to hear about how things were when their parents and grandparents were young. I think we tend to skip some of the everyday items and how they were (or weren’t – oh the horror of no video games!). This book sounds like an awesome reminder to discuss the everyday, mundane things that have changed so much in such a relatively short time. Take the telephone, not that big of a deal going from rotary to digit. Then add in the other changes and the impact to our lives, both positive and negative. There are so many discussions I can imagine having with this book as a starting point. I am so excited about this book!

    Comment by Cristina Gutierrez | August 27, 2011 | Reply

  16. I look forward to reading a second I Remember When book with an environmental theme. Having access to older people’s knowledge and experiences is a valuable resource.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | August 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,577 other followers

