Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Review and Giveaway: Daria Rose and The Day She Chose. Ends August 20th


Daria Rose and The Day She Chose writen by Author Yvonne Capitelli and illustrated by Sherri Forrester Baldy.

This is the first book of The Daria Rose Series. A story of self-empowerment: to foster positive behavior, confidence, courage, strength, determination, friendship, good values and the importance of being thoughtful and thankful. Join Daria Rose in a seven-day adventure as she discovers the powers she had inside her all along. She takes control of her days and learns how to make good choices. She discovers that her decisions can change the outcome of the different worries and fears in her life. Daria Rose learns that life is all about choices and it is up to her to make the right ones. This is a fun story that will teach a child invaluable tools in a child friendly way. Children will observe girls making good choices, positive behavior, and kindness towards others, children being grateful, appreciating a parent and having faith in oneself. This is a book filled with invaluable messages for all children. Children are never too young to learn about the power they have within and how important it is to be responsible for their own behavior. Whether your child is 4 or 14 they can learn never to give up and that all things are possible, if they choose to make it happen.

My Review: I love a book that educates us about the choices we make and how it can change our lives. Yvonne Capitelli has written a positive message about power and control letting young girls (even boys) that they can believe in their selves and have confidence in making good choices and positive things will happen. It is true that we can not change how others treat us but we can choose how it makes us feel. In this book Daria Rose’s mother explained to her that “What you think and how you act can make even a bad situation turn out good…” Don’t let fear stop you from making the right decisions. Don’t let others change how you feel about yourself and how you behave. What a great and positive message for our kid today, not only for the kids but for us adults. I highly recommended this book not only for family but for classroom teaching.

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving 1 lucky winner a signed copy of this book

Giveaway Ends August 20th  @ 12 noon

 Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Mandatory: Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified.

This Giveaway has ended!

August 10, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,

24 Comments »

  1. I would love to review your book with my girls, we all love to read and learn new things.

    Comment by Caitlin Carroll | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. Teaching young children to make good choices is very important in their upbringing and passing it along in book form would be wonderful for my granddaughters. I think reading examples to them would definitely be a big plus.

    countrysunset40 (at) aol dot com

    Comment by Tracy Smith | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  3. I think it’s great that this book shows how kids have power too. Too often power is relegated to adults.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  4. This book sounds awesome. I was an adult before I realized I had the power to control my future by my choices!

    Comment by joekathbia | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  5. My daughter and I enjoy reading together. I always try to find books that teach important life lessons in a fun, entertaining way.

    I’m an email subscriber.

    Comment by Mona Garg | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  6. Let me tell you hoe much my daughter NEEDS this book! She recently turned 6 and I swear her hormones or something has went crazy. All manners she once had seemed to have dissapeared into a different world. Bossiness has taken over, blaming everyone else and taking no fault. Then to top it off she has gotten mean by kicking and hiiting.
    Maybe this book would remind her of the sweet girl she was a few months back :)

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  7. I love all the positive elements of the book that teach good lessons to the kids! :-)

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  8. Sounds like a book I would like my daughter to read! I love that it rolls positiveness with control to make your own decisions!

    Comment by lisa | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  9. I love the fact that positive behavior is enforced rather than the meanness that seems so prevalent in the shows that are so in vogue with kids. I like that it shows that changes in their behavior is the only thing they have control of, not others behavior and that it shows there are consequences for bad behavior.

    Comment by Lisa Ann Richards | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  10. I love this book! It teaches so many good things in a very fun way, lessons that can never be taught too many times. I’ve found with my son, when I read him books like this, and then I casually start a discussion about what the character learned, the lessons stick a lot more than if we just have the discussion without a book. Thanks for an awesome giveaway:)

    Comment by Julie Witt | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  11. Teaching lessons to a child in a fun way that he/she will enjoy sounds like a wonderful idea to me! Thank you for the chance to win, my cousin will be grateful. edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  12. I enjoyed your review. However, I am left wondering just how in depth the book is. Giving an age range of 4-14 is quite wide. With the description provided, I am inclined to believe it is deeper than my soon to be 4 year old can completely appreciate. However, it sounds perfect for my soon to be 7 year old. Otherwise, the book sounds amazing and your review covers all the areas I would want to hear about. Thanks for bringing this book to my attention.

    cjbauers@gmail.com

    Comment by C Bauers | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  13. I would also like to share that I came upon your blog through blogging for books. If you are able, would you go to my webpage and post reviews/critiques of my posts. Either way, I will be subcribing to your post.

    http://www.aminutetoread.blogspot.com

    Comment by C Bauers | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  14. Much of the time my grandkids are well-behaved, but other times it seems they do not know how to react to a situation and make poor choices in how they respond. I think they would benefit from learning that they have more choices & power over their reactions.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  15. An appropriate book that I’d love to see in the classroom as well as home. I watch one of my granddaughters now go through this lack of self confidence. We just had a conversation about her being responsible for any decisions she makes. And how she should listen to her own thoughts and not let anyone sway her from her beliefs etc etc. This is a boo on my to buy list .
    Thanks for bringing it to our attention .
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  16. Books are wonderful, but even more so when they are able to teach young children while they are being “entertained” by a story. My daughter would LOVE to read this book—–I can picture the two of us cuddled together enjoying this book! Thanks for the chance!

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

    Comment by Nancye Davis | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  17. I agree with you. It’s never too young for children to learn that they are responsible for their own behavior. Also that life is full of choices and making the right choice can be life changing.

    Comment by Nicole Sender | August 14, 2011 | Reply

  18. My little one is already such a positive person. I’d love to win this book to let her relate some more.

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

    Comment by Kathy Nguyen | August 14, 2011 | Reply

  19. It sounds like a book my daughter would love

    Comment by jessica edwards | August 14, 2011 | Reply

  20. I always try to teach my children to take responsibility for their actions and this book seems like a great way to reinforce that lesson!
    theremustbmore@aol.com

    Comment by Stephanie Barmann | August 16, 2011 | Reply

  21. Wow, this book is great for girls, even us big ones. :o) the idea that we choose how we feel no matter how others treat us is a simple lesson that can empower kids. My 10-year-old niece would benefit from reading this book.

    rdwriter(at)homtail(dot)com

    Comment by Beth Reinke | August 17, 2011 | Reply

  22. Very nice to see a book showing positive outcomes for positive actions. Sounds like the perfect book for girls to learn accountability and integrity.

    Comment by Jason Jones | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  23. I just want to say “Thank You” for all the wonderful and positive comments about Daria Rose and The Day She Chose.
    Yvonne Capitelli

    Comment by Yvonne Capitelli | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  24. This book’s message of self-empowerment and standing for what you believe in sounds very appealing.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | August 20, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,606 other followers

