Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review & Giveaway: The Butterfly by Jethro Francois


The Butterfly by Jethro Francois with illustrations by Wilfils Soirelus and Marco P. Paul.

Valdee is a handsome, intelligent and polite young boy who is full of life. He enjoys very much being around people, and likewise, they like his company. He also enjoys going to school with his friends and playing sports with them. No one could have predicted that his life would take turn for the worse when he suddenly became very ill. As he suffered and could no longer relate to his friends; life then became very challenging for him. Valdee felt that he was coming to the end of the road when his life became similar to that of a caterpillar. However, one day he met the Shepherd, who extended His loving care. He was completely restored to enjoy an even more abundant life than he had ever experienced before. This is a story of hope!

My Review: Valdee is a polite young boy whose charmed life changes when he is afflicted with an illness that causes his grades to drop and his personality to change drastically. This book goes on to teach children that no matter their circumstances to never give up on their dreams. It also gives a message of hope to young boys and girls to reach their goal in life. Let no one tell you that there is no hope for you. It was great to read later in the book that Valdee got his confidence back when he met the Shepherd.

I love an illustration that brings the characters and book to life and that’s what Wilfils Soirelus and Marco P. Paul did.

 Ages: 9-12

Pages: 48

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author  in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

 

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving 1 lucky winner a  copy of this book

Giveaway Ends 13th July @ 12 noon

1. Mandatory: Like ‘Meet the Author’ on Facebook by clicking on the link http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Meet-The-Author/211777542192164 

2. Mandatory: Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! etc So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway. part of your comment below should say ‘Like facebook’

Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified.

This giveaway has ended!

July 4, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. I love the simile drawn between the butterfly and the boy-my nephew and nieces would love this (they could learn from someone who enjoys school)! Thank you so much :) edysicecreamlover18ATgmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | July 4, 2011 | Reply

  2. Books with hope are always great to share with kids; this one looks wonderful. It is great to help kids know that there dreams are possible. I also love that is also looks so colorful !

    Comment by lisa | July 4, 2011 | Reply

  3. One time, my sister found a pupa in our Dad’s garden. She and I put it in a
    small cage in my two young son’s bedroom. The very next morning, there was
    a lovely butterfly, all wet and dewy from leaving its’ cocoon…..The boys’ and I
    took the cage outside and released the butterfly. It landed on some flowers of mine,
    while it dried in the sun. It was amazing to see it so easily take off and fly away.
    Many thanks, Cindi

    Comment by Cindi | July 4, 2011 | Reply

  4. I love the cover of this book it is beautiful! I also love the moral of the story teaching kids self cofidence and change.

    Lmbrunken (AT) gmail (DOT) com

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | July 5, 2011 | Reply

  5. I know this is written with kids ages 9-12 in mind, however, I think anyone reading it could learn or re-learn a very important lesson. I would love to win this one and share it with my young friends in the neighborhood!! Hey, did you read where July 4th was the author’s birthday-Happy Birthday!! llm 96 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by llm96@aol.com | July 5, 2011 | Reply

  6. I like Meet the Author on FB – Rita Melton
    I think children need optimistic stories & I love the positve nature of this book.
    rmelton[at]hotmail[dot]com

    Comment by Rita M | July 5, 2011 | Reply

  7. Books that inspire Hope are always a plus for the children. Never giving up on a dream is so important to teach them.I liked your review Ella and this is definitely going on the wishlist for my grandkids. Thanks.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | July 5, 2011 | Reply

  8. My daughter would love this book. She is in the perfect age range since she is 10 and loves butterlies. The cover art is nice and I also “like” your facebook page.~~Maria S.

    Comment by Maria | July 6, 2011 | Reply

  9. Like Meet the Author on FB (Annette E). Honestly, I try to protect my children from depressing topics such as death and sickness, because their questions make me uncomfortable. However, I love the message about having hope and a positive outlook.

    Comment by AEKZ2 | July 6, 2011 | Reply

  10. Though a bit old for my 6 year old granddaughter, I wouldn’t mind reading this and sharing it with my daughter would is going to college to be a teacher.

    Comment by Lisa Richards/NL | July 8, 2011 | Reply

  11. Congrats to the winner #8 – Maria S

    Comment by mymcbooks | July 13, 2011 | Reply

  12. Very inspiring, love the story. I can honestly say I learned from this book myself, and anyone can learn from it as well. It was a blessing to have the opportunity as the illustrator to work on this project with Jethro Francois (who is the author).
    Wilfils Soirelus-Illustrator

    Comment by Wilfils Art | July 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,423 other followers

