Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Welcome to the Midsummer’s Eve Giveaway Hop June 21st to 24th


 

Welcome to the Midsummer’s Eve Giveaway Hop June 21st to 24th

 Hosted by I am a reader, not a writer

There will be 1 winner for this Hop USA ONLY

You have to be a subscriber to enter

Prize Pack is 3 Children’s books

Three Hens and a Peacock by Lester L Laminack illustrated by Henry Cole

 

Nothing unusual ever happened on the Tuckers farm. Until the day that peacock showed up…

When a glamorous visitor lands unexpectedly in their midst and begins attracting customers, three hardworking hens protest:  How come we do all the hard work and he gets all the attention?  To keep the peace, the wise old hound dog suggests a swap. The hens and the peacock soon find out that others jobs are not always as easy as they seem.  What will happen when three gussied-up hens spend the day prancing and parading at passing cars? And will that peacock ever figure out how to lay an egg?

My Review: The Hens were not happy that they had to do all the work while Peacock gets all the attention. Lesson learnt – Be thankful for the gift you have. Don’t ask for somebody else’s gift because you may not have the skills to do what they do with their gift. Henry Cole did a great job with the illustration. The looks on the Hens were really funny looking.

 

Camp K-9 BY Mary Ann Rodman illustrated by Nancy Hayashi

Roxie and her fellow dog campers are headed to Camp K-9 for all kinds of doggy fun. But Roxy has a secret: she brought her blanket in her Pooch Pouch. If the other campers find out, they will call her a puppy. Even worse, a mean Standard Poodle named Lucy seems determined to cause trouble and if Lucy sniffs out her secret, Roxy will really be in the doghouse.

All through the Camp K-9 activities, from Mutt Hutt high-jinks to Chow Hall chow-downs, from Splash Pals to Pup & Paddle, from building bone and stick houses in Barks & Crafts, to fur-raising tellings of The Haunted Mail Truck around the campfire, Roxie and her friends cower from the fearsome Lucy. Then Roxie discovers that Lucy has a secret, too…

My Review: Every child had a blanket when they were young. I held on to mine till I was 20. I laid it at the foot of my bed…lol!

Roxie was finding it hard to let go of her blanket when she was sent off to Camp. She’s worried the other dogs will discover her secret. Only to find out that Lacy had a big secret of her own. Nancy Hayashi did a great picture illustration.

 

Bring On the Birds written and illustrated by Susan Stockdale

Mymcbooks, a customer just told us your review on ‘Bring On the Birds was helpful to them while shopping on Amazon. Oct 27th, 2012

Birds come in all sorts of interesting shapes, sizes, and colors and many of them can do amazing things as well. Can you imagine…

Dancing birds, Diving birds, Hanging birds, Hiding birds… They’re all real!

In her latest book, noted author-illustrator Susan Stockdale introduces young readers to both exotic and familiar birds in energetic rhyming text. The bright, bold colors and crisp, clean lines of Stockdale’s birds, depicted in their natural habitats, can’t help but grab your attention. An after word identifies each animal and tells a little bit about it and where it lives.

My Review: What a great way to introduce readers to the exotic and familiar birds in s simple rhyming text, with vibrant and exciting colors. Towards the end of the story, Susan Stockdale gives an educational background and descriptive text of the different type of birds she listed in her book. A must have for classroom teaching.

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from Peachtree Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.

Books for Ages 4 – 8

 Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

 So entry is simple just

Mandatory Entry: To enter subscribe to Mymcbooks Blog and leave your email address for shipping contact. No email No contact.

Mandatory: Leave a helpful comment relating to these books would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

To win more books please check out the other OVER 250 blogs taking part by clicking on the link below to enter more goodies.

http://iamareadernotawriter.blogspot.com/p/midwinters-eve-giveaway-hop.html

This giveaway close at midnight on Friday, June 24th  and the winner will be selected at random.org and post noon June 25th

_________________________________

This Giveaway has ended!

June 20, 2011 - Posted by | Giveaway Hops | , , , , , , , , ,

32 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the great giveaway. I enjoy sharing books with my daughter — especially those that include life lessons.

    I’m an email subscriber.

    Comment by Mona Garg | June 20, 2011 | Reply

  2. I follow your delightful book blog…
    The three books in your giveaway are such cute stories and I love the
    animation in them. Books written that have values in them are always
    important and fun to read…
    Many thanks, Cindi

    Comment by Cindi | June 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. A peacock laying an egg just made me crack up! This sounds perfect for my cousin’s child, she loves super imaginative books =) Thank you! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | June 20, 2011 | Reply

  4. Blog hops are so much fun, wish everyone had some!

    I want to read more about the peacocks and how u should be thankful. Good lesson for kids.

    K9 camp reminds me of my son he carried his blanket EVERYWHERE until he was 7. It mysteriously dissappeared and he cried for awhile.

    Birds are also fun to learn about!

    Great giveaway and thanks

    Lmbrunken {AT} gmail {DOT} com

    Comment by larissa | June 20, 2011 | Reply

  5. i have two toddlers and we love to read at night- these books sound perfect for them! Thanks for the chance! :)

    Comment by cassandra aubut | June 20, 2011 | Reply

  6. An amazing Blog Hop. These three books are great reads for Parents and their kids. Teaching Life lessons is always better while kids are enjoying the reads at the same time. Count me in as well.
    GFC follower under Lucky47.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750@aol.com

    Comment by Carol L. | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  7. I know two very smart and imaginative young girls in my neighborhood reading group that would just eat up this one. I love that all the books your review and give away have such interesting stories and lessons too!!
    Email subscriber, llm 96 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Laura McLendon | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  8. e-mail subscriber
    I can relate to Camp K-9. My brother had his “sniffie” blanket till it was worn down to the size of a small piece of paper. Heaven help us if his blanket was left somewhere.

    Comment by Nicole Sender | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  9. I am a email subscriber. I think the camp k-9 sounds like a perfect book to help prepare kids to go to camp.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

    Comment by debbie | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  10. All three of these books look darling, but I absolutely have to find out if that peacock ever figures out how to lay an egg :) I teach a class of 7 year olds at my church and think they would have a lot to learn from that story–that you can’t compare yourself to others because everyone has their own special gifts and talents!

    I am an email subscriber, and love your blog!

    Marci
    marciclark88 at gmail dot com

    Comment by Marci | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  11. My little one loves books about animals. He’s especially like the ones about the chickens and the peacock. Great stuff!

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  12. I am always looking for books that involve rhyming words for my classroom library. The fact that the last book is about birds, too, makes it even better! It’s educational in more than one way!

    I’m an email subscriber.

    leanniegehrke at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Leanne | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  13. i love that you always have such wonderful book suggestions and these are no exception. thankyou for the chance to win such a great giveaway.
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

    Comment by wyndwhisper | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  14. My current focus is on books for my granddaughter… she loves being read to & books that are colorful really get her attention.
    I believe that ones love of reading transfers to their children, so books with lessons to be learned (as in Three Hens and a Peacock)
    are of particular interest to me. Thanks for the giveaway.
    rmelton[at]hotmail[dot]com

    Comment by Rita M | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  15. My son loves books about birds, so Bring on The Birds would be perfect for him! So many neat birds to learn about. Love that it is so colorful! Email subscriber.

    Comment by lisa w. | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  16. As a former Kindergarten teacher I know how valuable reading is to a young child. Both my children grew up to be avid readers & now I hope to instill this love of books in my 5 year old grandson. Thanks for the chance.
    Email subscriber

    ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

    Comment by Ruthie B | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  17. Three Hens and a Peacock looks like a book that my daughter would love and the cover is gorgeous.
    Subscribed via email
    mrsmchappell at gmail dot com

    Comment by Michelle C | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  18. Thanks for the great giveaway! The Three Hens and a Peacock looks like a great child’s book and my grandbaby would love it!
    email subscriber-charlawilson@me.com

    Comment by Charla | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  19. I would love to win these books. My 2 youngest nephews are aged 4 and 6 and would love these books. They both love animals and bugs so would love to have these read to them/read them. Thank you for this great giveaway.
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by junem1974 | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  20. These books all look wonderful. I like books that teach something be it a moral or about birds. I think all of these books would be good conversation starters.

    mia at jacobsracing dot com

    Comment by Mia J. | June 21, 2011 | Reply

  21. This does look like great giveaway thanks for part ipatiing

    I always like to read children’s book I usually review and use as giveaways or give to my nephews’ school for the classroom or library. They look like very colorful books

    Comment by Sue Fitz | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  22. I’m a subscriber. Thanks for the great giveaway. If I win contest these books will be donated to our Title One Reading Program at the elementary school I work at. Thanks for the opportunity!
    tmdahle@centurytel.net

    Comment by Tammy Dahle | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  23. I just subscribed! Your giveaways are great, I look forward to entering more. I found you through the Midsummerseve Hop, I am having a kids giveaway too.

    Patricia @ http://lemondropsdreamtoo.blogspot.com/

    Comment by Patricia | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  24. Thank you for giving us a chance to win children’s books! My step-daughter is 8 and would love them, especially Camp K-9 (she loves dogs). When she’s done with them I can pass them on to my sister for her son who will be 4 in January 2012. My step-daughter loves to give her books to my nephew.

    Amber
    saphsbookblog@gmail.com

    Comment by Amber Marr | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  25. Since I have a 3 year old I like books with great illustration which these 3 books seem to have. I also like a lesson for my daughter to learn or are relateable in some way! These books look perfect for her! I just love the Three Hens and a peacock cover! That definetly looks like one I’d pick up to read to her!!
    shannonjean14(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by Shannon J. | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  26. I am an email subscriber kpuleski at gmail dot com

    I loved your thoughts on Camp K-9. I also have to admit that I am in my mid-30′s and I STILL have my blankie! Granted I don’t sleep with it, but that’s probably because I don’t want my kids or the cat to get it dirty, so it’s put away for safe-keeping, LOL:) Thanks so much!

    Comment by Karen | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  27. My son loves birds, so I think he would enjoy that book a lot. Especially the colors. They are so bright and inviting.

    lhoffpauir at gmail

    Comment by Lisa | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  28. I subscribed to your blog. I liked how all three of these books had animal themes and sound very interesting.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  29. These books look AMAZING!! I think my 3 year old would absolutely adore them, especially since they all have animals in them. I myself can personally relate to Camp K-9. I’m 26 and STILL sleep with my baby blanket; I used to be so embarrassed taking it to friends’ houses for sleepovers but after awhile I just stopped caring what people thought because it made me feel safe!

    JamesterCK@yahoo.com

    Comment by Jamie Kline | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  30. The bird book would be very helpful in identifying different types of birds
    velvethubler at yahoo dot com

    Comment by vhubler | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  31. Would love to read Camp K 9 to my nephew…right now he is obsessed with all things dog,and I know he would love this!

    :Love your blog!

    Comment by Laurie Brown | June 24, 2011 | Reply

  32. Thanks for taking part in the Midsummer’s Eve Giveaway Hop June 21st to 24th hosted by I am a reader not a writer. And congrats to the winner selected by Random.org

    #15 – Lisa W

    Comment by mymcbooks | June 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,423 other followers

