Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

NEA’S Read Across America – March 2, 2011 (Dr. Seuss’s birthday) Giveaway


Memorable Children Books & Gifts will be giving 1 lucky winner free Dr Seuss Books.

 

Start 16th February – Ends 5th March, 2011

To Enter the Free Giveaway

Mandatory: Have you read a Dr Seuss book to your child?

Mandatory: How many times a week do you read to your child?

Mandatory: What is your favorite Dr Seuss book?

Mandatory: You must be a  Subscriber to Mymcbooks Blog by clicking on

Mandatory: Leave your email address in the comment field.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified

Winner will be chosen at random
Open to U.S Residents.
No PO boxes, please.

 

Grab Your Hat and Read with the Cat!

It’s that time of year again, time to gear up for The National Education Association (NEA). NEA’s Read Across America Day and Dr. Seuss’s birthday on March 2. First Lady Michelle Obama and Secretary of Education Arne Duncan joined NEA President Dennis Van Roekel to share their love of reading with hundreds of local schoolchildren at the Library of Congress last year and have been invited to return to join celebrity readers for our national kickoff. Secretary Duncan has already said yes and we’re looking for a repeat of the reading fun shown here. NEA’S Read Across America – March 2, 2011

Get involved! The National Education Association (NEA). NEA’s Read Across America Day is a nationwide reading celebration that takes place annually on March 2—Dr. Seuss’s birthday. Across the country, thousands of schools, libraries, and community centers participate by bringing together kids, teens, and books and you can too! Incorporate these guides and activities to celebrate reading with young people. http://www.nea.org/readacross/

The Purpose of Read Across America

Motivating children to read is an important factor in student achievement and creating lifelong successful readers. Research has shown that children who are motivated and spend more time reading do better in school.

TM & © 1997 Dr. Seuss Enterprises, L.P. and NEA. Cat in the Hat image TM & © 1957 Dr. Seuss Enterprises, L.P. All Rights Reserved.

This Giveaway is now closed.

 

Memorable Children Books & Gifts (MCBG) will like to say a big thank you to all those who took part in the ‘Dr Suess Books’ Free Giveaway. And also like to say congratulation to  

Nikki.

Yvonne J would also like to give you a Dr Suess book for reading to over 30 children.

Winner was selected by Random.org.

February 16, 2011 - Posted by | Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,

24 Comments »

  1. My favorite & the book I read to my child is One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Rish.
    We read numerous times daily, though there are days that he decides against it lol.
    I’m subscribed under christina_marsee@hotmail.com
    Email is the same christina_marsee@hotmail.com
    Thanks for the giveaway!!

    Comment by christina | February 16, 2011 | Reply

  2. When my 7 were young I read to them every evening, even if it was for 15 minutes. And Dr Suess was always in our reading choices.Green Eggs and Ham was the favorite for a long time.
    At least 5 of them grew up to be avid readers. :) Now I read a couple times of week to my grandkids.I tell them that reading is their ticket to the World. They can go and be in places they never dreamed with the written word of stories. GFC follower under Lucky47. Email subscriber.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750@aol.com

    Comment by Carol L. | February 16, 2011 | Reply

  3. Very very cute! We did a Dr. Seuss party for our oldest daughter’s first birthday. It was very fun! Our cake was like the Cat in the Hats.

    Comment by Dr. Seuss Party Supplies | February 16, 2011 | Reply

  4. Yes, I have read a Dr Seuss book to my children.
    I read to my children about 5 times a week.
    My favorite Dr Seuss book is Oh, the Places You’ll Go!
    I’m a subscriber.
    annettekz2@yahoo.com

    Comment by AEKZ2 | February 16, 2011 | Reply

  5. I’ve read Dr. Seuss books to my children just like my mom read them to me.

    My favorite book is “One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish”

    I’m a subscriber

    ellie.bfaos(@)gmail(.)com

    Comment by Ellie | February 16, 2011 | Reply

  6. Absolutely, I have read Dr. Suess to all 8 of my children…AND my classroom children.
    I read to my youngest son (13, but just happens to have special needs) EVERY single night. I’ve read to all of my children every night. It’s always been part of our night time routine. Like brushing teeth, putting on pajamas and saying prayers…we read.
    My favorite Dr. Seuss book is Fox in Socks…only because when my kids were little and I’d read it to them, I’d read it faster and faster as I read the book and by the end (when I dramatically finished) my kids were cracking up….it’s just a wonderful memory…it’s been my favorite ever since.

    I’m a subscriber via e-mail: nowakoski(@) sbcglobal(.)net

    Comment by Ms. Dawn | February 16, 2011 | Reply

  7. Have you read a Dr Seuss book to your child?
    -All the time! In fact we read Oh Say Can You Say tonight.

    How many times a week do you read to your child?
    -Every day we read two books at bedtime, and whenever they ask during the day.

    What is your favorite Dr Seuss book?
    -There’s a Wocket in My Pocket

    You must be a Subscriber to Mymcbooks Blog
    -email subscriber :)

    Leave your email address in the comment field.
    daniellecorrelle@aol.com

    Comment by DanielleCorrelle | February 17, 2011 | Reply

  8. Have you read a Dr Seuss book to your child?
    Yes, absolutely. We have a few that my little one loves us to read all of the time!

    How many times a week do you read to your child?
    We try to read to the girls every night, a couple of books before bedtime.

    What is your favorite Dr Seuss book?
    Green Eggs and Ham, love that book!

    Email subscriber.

    furygirl3132[at]comcast[dot]net

    Comment by Eloise Carlson | February 17, 2011 | Reply

  9. Ugh, delete my last entry, I forgot to finish!
    Favorite- Cat in the Hat
    Read to my child- Every night, and often during the day too
    I’ve read my son most of the Dr. Seuss books.
    Email subscriber.

    Comment by Nikki | February 17, 2011 | Reply

  10. I’ve read many Dr Seuss books to my grandkids.
    I read to them whenever they sleep over – at least once a week.
    My favorite Dr Seuss book is Oh Say Can You Say?
    I’m a subscriber
    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | February 17, 2011 | Reply

  11. Have you read a Dr Seuss book to your child?
    Oh, yes, as I am a great fan of Dr. Seuss. I read them to my daughter, and now she reads them to my grandson.

    How many times a week do you read to your child?
    My grandson is read to on a nightly basis. Sometimes he also wants to read one before his nap.

    What is your favorite Dr Seuss book?
    My favorite Dr. Seuss book is Green Eggs and Ham which I have memorized after reading it so many time.

    I am a subscriber to Mymcbooks Blog.
    Christine W.
    womackcm@sbcglobal.net

    Thank you for sponsoring this giveaway,

    Christine W.
    womackcm@sbcglobal.net

    Comment by Christine W | February 19, 2011 | Reply

  12. I read Dr Seuss books to my girls and now to my grandchildren. Unfortunately they have just moved to Texas so I don’t get to read to them nightly anymore.
    Our favorite Dr Seuss book is Horton hears a who or else One Fish Two Fish. I signed up for email updates.
    madonnal at gmail dot com

    Comment by Madonna | February 20, 2011 | Reply

  13. I have read Dr. Seuss:)
    I hate to admit this, but I don’t read to my kid as often as I’d like. I probably read 4 times a week. My favorite Dr. Seuss would be “Hop on Pop.” I subscribed to your email. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by Christina anne d. | February 20, 2011 | Reply

  14. I don’t have any children of my own, but I baby-sit all the time and am studying to be a teacher. So I have read Dr. Seuss books to children, just not my own. I read to kids all the time- each time I baby-sit and when I’m in the classroom. My favorite is Green Eggs and Ham. I am a subscriber.

    leanniegehrke at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Leanne | February 20, 2011 | Reply

  15. Of course I’ve read Dr. Seuss books to my kids! We read every day – before naptime and before bed, and then anytime in bewtween when a book is brought to me with, “Lap! Read book!” as the request. My favorite is “Oh, The Thinks You Can Think!” I haven’t read that to my little guy, yet, but my oldest loved it when he got old enough. Right now, my toddler’s favorite is “Are You My Mother?” The ‘snort’ always gets him laughing.
    I’m an email subscriber.
    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Alicia C. | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  16. I have read The Lorax (we own it) as well as the grinch (we own that too) to her. we get one a year at christmas time!

    sarahdoeshair_a at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Sarah | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  17. email subscriber, we read everyday. we make sure we do too. our daughter is obsessed with books and knows when she sees a barnes and noble. our favorite book right now is the lorax, because its soooo meaningful. also we like green eggs and ham!

    Comment by Sarah | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  18. aww poo. i keep forgetting things.. email is sarahdoeshair_a at yahoo dot com Sorry :(

    Comment by Sarah | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  19. I read There’s a wocket in my pocket last night! I read to my children daily. My favorite is Mulberry Street. I subscribe. carrie.hare@gmail.com

    Comment by carriem | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  20. Mandatory: Have you read a Dr Seuss book to your child? Yes, I read Dr. Seuss 4-5 times a week to her.

    Mandatory: How many times a week do you read to your child? — I read every day to my daughter.

    Mandatory: What is your favorite Dr Seuss book? — Oh, the places you will go

    Mandatory: You must be a Subscriber to Mymcbooks Blog by clicking on Email Subscription — I am a subscriber

    rmccoy1234 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Robin | February 27, 2011 | Reply

  21. I have read several Dr. Seuss books to my kids.
    We read at least 1 book a day
    Our favorite are the Cat in the Hat book and Oh the Places you will go.

    I subscribe by email under kellywcuATyahooDOTcom

    KellywcuATyahooDOTcom

    Comment by Kelly D | February 28, 2011 | Reply

  22. Yes, my child is now 30 and I read many Dr. Seuss’ books to her and to her 3 children. As the library story lady, I now read Dr. Seuss’ stories to 30-80 children each week.

    I have Story Time three days a week but don’t always include a Dr. Seuss story as a selection. Of course this week is all Dr. Seuss.

    What is your favorite Dr Seuss book? Horton Hatches an Egg or Yertle the Turtle.

    email subscriber – yes
    email navywyfe@yahoo.com

    Comment by Yvonne Jefferson | March 3, 2011 | Reply

  23. Mandatory: Have you read a Dr Seuss book to your child? We read Green Eggs and Ham A LOT!!lol

    Mandatory: How many times a week do you read to your child? 7 days a week if nothing else always before bed!

    Mandatory: What is your favorite Dr Seuss book? My favorite is Are you my Mother?
    My son’s favorite is Green eggs and Ham.

    RambleSAHM@yahoo.com

    Comment by rambleSAHM | March 4, 2011 | Reply

  24. Memorable Children Books & Gifts (MCBG) will like to say a big thank you to all those who took part in the ‘Dr Suess Books’ Free Giveaway. And also like to say congratulation to

    Nikki. Please email me your address.

    Yvonne J would also like to give you a Dr Suess book for reading to over 30 children.

    Winner was selected by Random.org.

    Comment by mymcbooks | March 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,418 other followers

